Capricorn Collaborators

This month I am researching Capricorn musicians (born between December 22-January 19). I had a difficult time finding a common theme here as I began working my way down this very talented list of musicians ranging from Elvis Presley to Skrillex. The reason I chose the nickname of Collaborators is because a sizeable chunk of the songs I best enjoy by each of these artists were created in conjunction with other artists. That is not to say the musicians don’t stand on their own, but unlike the previous month (Sagittarius Soloists) a lot of the Capricorn singers, instrumentalists, and DJs shine best when they get to work with others.

I do not personally have a tracker of all musician’s horoscopes (yet). Each month I compile a list of musicians using The Famous People database (Capricorn musicians listed here). I find that the order often hides some of the better-known musicians underneath some personalities known for other things. I transcribe a list of artists then listen to artists I am unfamiliar with (and glance at biographies if necessary). Then I split the artists into different genres or categories and attempt to find commonalities between the overarching artists.

*Some of these could land in multiple categories. I most particularly want to note that Soul seems to be tacked onto the genre descriptors on many of these artists, but I have chosen to categorize them into their distinct main genres. I absolutely know Janis Joplin, Elvis Presley, and Dolly Parton often give soulful performances.

Rock and Roll

  • Elvis Presley
  • David Bowie

Classic Rock

  • Pat Benatar
  • Rod Stewart
  • Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam)
  • Jim Croce

Punk/Alt Rock

  • Patti Smith
  • Hayley Williams (Paramore)
  • Dave Grohl (Nirvana Drummer, Foo Fighters Singer)
  • Zack de la Rocha* (Rage Against the Machine, One Day as a Lion)

R&B and Soul

  • John Legend
  • Janis Joplin*
  • Mary J. Blige
  • Jordin Sparks (American Idol)

Rap

  • LL Cool J
  • DaBaby
  • Mac Miller
  • Pitbull
  • Tyrese Gibson
  • Raekwon (Wu-Tang Clan)
  • Polo G
  • Slick Rick (Doug E. Fresh & the Get Fresh Crew)

Country/Folk

  • Dolly Parton
  • John Denver
  • Kid Rock
  • Joan Baez
  • Sissy Spacek
  • Jimmy Buffett*

Pop (including Latin and KPop)

  • Louis Tomlinson (One Direction)
  • Zayn Malik (One Direction)
  • Jennie (Blackpink)
  • Kim Tae-hyung (V, BTS)
  • Aaliyah
  • Ricky Martin
  • Meghan Trainor
  • Ellie Goulding
  • Sade Adu

Disco and 80s

  • Annie Lennox (Eurythmics)
  • Robin Gibb (Bee Gees)
  • Donna Summer

DJ/Producer and Dance music

  • Calvin Harris
  • Skrillex
  • Sean Paul
  • Rajesh Khanna (Producer Bollywood Soundtracks)

Actors/Comedians who sing

  • Andy Kaufman
  • Grant Gustin
  • Marlene Dietrich
  • Rocky and Ross Lynch (Disney Channel, R5, Driver Era)

Leave a comment